Department of Political Science

  • Year of Establishment: 1966
  • Location: Ground Floor, Main Building


The department was opened in 1966 at the time of the establishment of the college. Late Abdul Kader was the founder teacher& HoD of the department who continued to serve till his untimely death in 1992. Azim Uddin Saikia joined the department in 1969 and worked up to 1972 and later joined Pragjyotish College, Guwahati. Dr. Ramendra Kumar Das joined the department in 1970 and later became the HoD in 1992 and joined as the Principal of the college in 2000. During his tenure as Principal the college was assessed by NAAC in 2003 and was awarded the grade of B++. Later, Dr. Das was selected a member of the NAAC Peer Team. Radha Charan Rabha worked here for a long period of 23 years before his joining in Gauhati University as the Director of Students' Welfare. Sri Rabha was a dynamic person and, as NSS Officer of the college brought success to college by participating at the national level NSS Camps. Currently it is a four member department comprising two distinguished alumni of the college. One of them, Khurshed Alam, became the university topper when he got 2nd class 1st position (there being no 1st class) in B. A. (Hons.) Final Examination in 1984 and stood 1st Class 1st in M.A. Final Examination in Political Science at Gauhati University in 1986 (held in 1988). He was also awarded K. K. Handique Memorial Cash Prize and departmental prize for securing highest aggregate marks in Political Science in M. A. Final Examination. At present he is a member of the Gauhati University Court.

Course Offered

  • HS Course
  • Three years (six semesters) Degree Course (B.A), Major & General


Khurshed Alam

Associate Prof.


Bimal Basumatary

Asst. Prof.


Baburam Basumatary

Asst. Prof.


Nasir Mahmud

Asst. Prof.

Research Project Details

Shashi Prava Goswami had completed one UGC sponsored Minor Research Project in 2013 on Women and Politics : Role of Women in Panchayati Raj Institution of Barpeta District of Assam.


The Department has one laptop with internet facilities and a small departmental library. The Department, under the aegis of Political Science Forum, organizes academic activities for the benefits of the students. The teachers of the Department offer informal counseling to students from time to time.


Political Science department regularly organizes group discussions, class seminars, seminers, debate, departmental quiz among the students within the department. The faculties of this department offer informal career counseling to students from time to time. Occasionally the department organizes field trip or excursion visit for students to various places. The department also co-operates in activities of Society for Humanities and Social Sciences which felicitates the outstanding students. The faculties guide students of major course as mentor on group wise.

Examination Results

TDC (Only Major) 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017
No. of 1st Class 4 24 14 34 31
No. of 2nd Class 11 11 34 16 21
Pass Percentage

NET/SET/JRF/GATE/GRE Qualifier : (2011-2017) : NET - 3, APSC - 2