Department of Philosophy

  • Year of Establishment: 1966
  • Location: Ground Floor, Main Building


The department was opened in 1966 at the time of the establishment of the college. M. Nag and Ahmed Hussain Khan were the founder teachers of the department but they left early. Khan later joined as the Principal of Madhya Kamrup College, Chenga, Barpeta. After his departure the department was managed by Dr. Krishna Kinkar Mahanta and Dr. Purna Kanta Khataniar for a long period of time till their retirements. Initially the department taught Logic at the HS level and Philosophy (General) at the UG level. BA Major programme in Philosophy was opened in 1995. The department is scheduled to organize a UGC sponsored National Seminar on Religion and Politics in Indian Context in June 2017.

Course Offered

  • HS Course
  • Three years (six semesters) Degree Course (B.A), Major & General.


Dr. Dhira Bhattacharya

Associate Prof.


Dr. Abu Sayem Siddique

Asst. Prof.


Dr. Mohammad Aziz

Asst. Prof.


Shomia Aktar

Asst. Prof.


The department has one laptop with internet facilities and a small departmental library. The department organizes academic activities for the benefits of the students. The teachers of the department offer informal counseling to students from time to time.


Philosophy department regularly organizes group discussions, seminars among the students within the department. The faculties of this department offer informal career counseling to students from time to time. The department also co-operates in activities of Society for Humanities and Social Sciences which felicitates the outstanding students.

Examination Results

TDC (Only Major) 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017
No. of 1st Class 11 11 23 17 5
No. of 2nd Class 14 9 14 14 4
Pass Percentage

NET/SET/JRF/GATE/GRE Qualifier : (2010-2017) : NET - 2, SET - 1, JRF- 1, TET - 30