Department of Chemistry

  • Year of Establishment: 1988
  • Location: 1st Floor, Main Building


The department was opened in 1988 when Science Stream was introduced in the college initially only for higher secondary classes. At that time it was a single-faculty department. The founder teacher was Bipul Krishna Das who later joined in another college in a sanctioned post. In 1996, it was upgraded to a full-fledged department with the opening of the under graduate programme. During this period, Late Leela Nath also served in this department for a brief period.

Course Offered

  • HS Course
  • Three years (six semesters) Degree Course (B. Sc.) both Major & General


Prabhat Ch. Choudhury

Asst. Prof.


Dr. Rodali Talukdar

Asst. Prof.


Dhiraj Kumar Sarma

Asst. Prof.


Rajib Pandit

Asst. Prof.


Amiya Sarkar

Asst. Prof.


The Department has full laboratory facility for undergraduate students such as one laptop with internet connection, audio-visual aids like LCD Projector, one U-V double beam Spectro-photometer, one Magnetic Stirrer, Electronic Balances, Conductivity Bridges, pH meters, Polarimeters etc. in addition to common laboratory apparatus and chemicals The students are provided counselling outside the classroom. Occasionally, field trips and educational trips are organized. The Department has an academic support in the form of a laboratory bearer.


The Department plays an important role in the functioning of Science Forum and Environment Forum. The Department actively participated in the Science Magic programme organized by the B H College Science Forum in 2013 as well as the Science Exhibition held on the occasion of Barpeta Road Session of Asom Sahitya Sabha in January 2012. It also plays an important role in carrying out different project works in Environment Science and takes active part in different social service and cultural activities organized by the college.

Examination Results

TDC (Only Major) 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017
No. of 1st Class 3 4 4 5 15
No. of 2nd Class 6 7 4 3 9
Pass Percentage

NET/SET/JRF/GATE/GRE Qualifier : (2011-2017) : NET - 1, JRF -1, GATE- 2, SLET - 2